The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

Its baking season! Throw on your apron, take out your mixers, play some holiday music and get your bake on!

I have for you, the MOST perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe. This is a 2009 recipe from the NY Times .

I wasn’t going to post it because its already all over the internet, but I have made this recipe several times now and it would be a shame not to share the perfect cookie recipe. These cookies are perfectly chocolatey, perfectly salty, and perfectly chewy, soft and crispy all at the same time….

I’m telling you, its the perfect cookie!

This recipe is a great cookie base recipe, I want to try this with white chocolate chips, macadamia nuts and cranberries.

This makes about 1-1/2 dozen large cookies. Prep the dough 24 hours before baking. Resist the urge to make the dough and bake right away. Wait 24 hours!!!

Ingredients

2 cups minus 2 tablespoons (8 1/2 ounces) Cake Flour

1 2/3 cups (8 1/2 ounces) Bread Flour

1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt

2 1/2 sticks (1 1/4 cups) unsalted butter

1 1/4 cups (10 ounces) light brown sugar

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (8 ounces) granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons natural vanilla extract

1 1/4 pounds bittersweet chocolate chips at least 60 percent cacao content, I like the Ghirardelli brand.

Sea salt to sprinkle

Instructions:

Sift flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Set aside.

Using a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars together until very light, about 5 minutes.

Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla.

Reduce speed to low, add dry ingredients and mix until just combined, 5 to 10 seconds.

Drop chocolate pieces in and incorporate them without breaking them. Press plastic wrap against dough and refrigerate for 24 to 36 hours. Dough may be used in batches, and can be refrigerated for up to 72 hours.

 When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a nonstick baking mat. Set aside.

 Scoop 3 1/2-ounce mounds of dough and roll into a ball (the size of generous golf balls) onto baking sheet (don’t smash them down just leave the ball), Sprinkle lightly with sea salt and bake until golden brown but still soft, 18 to 20 minutes. OR about 12-14 minutes in a convection oven.

Transfer sheet to a wire rack for 10 minutes, then slip cookies onto another rack to cool a bit more.

Repeat with remaining dough, or reserve dough, refrigerated, for baking remaining batches the next day.

We are a household of 2, there is no way we could or should eat this many cookies over 3-4 days so I freeze the cookie dough in balls and bake a couple at a time when we get a sweet tooth.

I like to roll all the dough balls (golf ball size), put them on a lined baking sheet (make sure they are not touching) and put them in the freezer. Once the balls are frozen I just throw them in a ziplock bag and take a few out as needed. I bake them straight from the freezer at 350 degrees F for 14 minutes in a convection oven. They are still perfectly fluffy even straight from the freezer.

5 comments on “The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. Karen says:

    I’m glad you posted the recipe. I like you idea of white chocolate and cranberries for a festive cookie for the holidays.

  2. Julie Draper says:

    Hi there! I stumbled on to your page by accident while looking for a killer image of a chocolate chip cookie (which I indeed found here!) It has been however an unexpected, added pleasure to peruse your site; I found more than a few recipes that I am eager to try….thank you for the culinary inspiration!
    On an unrelated note, may I humbly request your permission to use the photo of the chocolate chip cookie with the bite taken out of it on a page on my website? It makes my mouth water just looking at it…! Thank you and all the best! (And of course please don’t hesitate to send me an e-mail if you have any questions!)

    • danyandy says:

      Julie, thanks so much for asking before using the picture. Yes you can use it! These cookies are killer! Glad you stumbled upon my blog. I haven’t posted in a while but I’m looking forward to getting back into it.

      • Julie says:

        Thank you so much, Daniela! I appreciate it! I look forward to checking out your future posts then. All the best and many thanks again!

  3. Rita says:

    Hi, Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

