Perfectly Poached Egg

Can you believe that until today, I had never poached an egg?

I had my first poached egg at a restaurant in Cleveland not too long ago. It was the perfect egg. I couldn’t believe I had gone this long without poached eggs.

Just last week I saw a post from Bon Appetite Magazine on my Facebook page. It was Thomas Keller’s perfect poached egg recipe.

I made poached eggs for breakfast today. I served mine over some sautéed mushrooms with shallots and arugula. As usual, Thomas Keller never disappoints. This egg was perfect. I can now say I have poached an egg!

 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 1 large egg
  • Coarse sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

  • Pour 1/2 cup vinegar into a small bowl. Crack 1 egg into each bowl, taking care not to break yolk; let stand for 5 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, bring a medium saucepan of water to a boil over medium-high heat. Using a whisk, vigorously swirl water until a vortex forms in the center.
  • Slip 1 egg with vinegar into vortex and continue to swirl water with whisk around edges of pan until it returns to a boil. The egg white should wrap tightly around the yolk, forming an oval shape. As soon as water returns to a boil, reduce heat to medium and gently simmer egg, frequently swirling water, for 2 minutes. 
  • Using a slotted spoon, lift egg from water and use kitchen shears to trim any stray pieces of egg white. Place egg on paper towels and gently blot; transfer egg to a bowl or plate.

Serve over toast or veggies!

Leave a Reply

