Sopa de Arroz ( Mexican Rice)

If you grew up in a Mexican home like I did, you never forget about the aromas that traveled from the kitchen and filled your home. Whenever I am making rice you can smell it throughout the whole house and Andy takes a deep breath and with his nose up in the air says ” its smells like home”.

Sopa de Arroz, ┬ápronounced soap- ah day are-ohz. Translates to rice soup. I don’t remember a day that my mom did not have rice and beans on the stove. This rice is probably served daily as a side dish in most mexican homes. Like meat and potatoes, but instead we would have meat and rice.

The secret to the perfect rice is to toast the rice in oil, it gives it great flavor. Its also said that you should always use the same pot when you make rice to ensure its perfect every time and I totally believe this. I have made my rice in a different size pot and it didn’t cook the same. When its done, it should be perfectly fluffy with a nice tint of red color from the tomato sauce. The bottom of the pot always has the little crispy semi burnt pieces of rice that most mexican kids would fight over. Wow… this dish,which is super simple, really brings back so many memories and takes me back to my roots. Nothing fancy, just good ol’ mexican cooking.

Ingredients:

2 cups of long grain rice. I really like to use Jasmine Rice

1 table spoon of coconut oil or whatever oil you like to cook with. I love coconut oil.

2 cups of water

1 cup tomato sauce

3 teaspoons chicken bullion- every mexican uses Knorr brand chicken bullion, I think its the best flavor

2 garlic cloves minced

rough chopped cilantro for garnish

Heat oil in a medium pot over medium high heat.

Add rice. With a wooden spoon push rice back and forth for about 8-10 minutes until the rice is lightly toasted.

While rice is toasting. Fill a large measuring cup with 2 cups of hot water and mix in one cup of tomato sauce, bullion and minced garlic.

Once rice is toasty add water, tomato, bullion and garlic mix. Mix it a couple of times and cover the pot with a lid.

Bring to a boil and lower heat to medium low for about 15 minutes and then cook on the lowest setting for about 10 minutes. Turn stove off and let rice sit without removing the lid for another 10-15 minutes. Fluff rice with a fork and mix in rough chopped cilantro right before serving.